CARA's history has been well preserved and is currently held in two separate archives.  The first, covering the period from 1933 to the 1970s, is available from the Bodleian Library in Oxford.  The second, with material from the 1970s onwards, is housed at the University of East London.  The archives offer a wealth of material for historians, biographers, political and social scientists etc. Should you wish to research the archives, please submit a request to info.cara@lsbu.ac.uk or call 020 7021 0880.

The intellectual, social and economic contribution of academic refugees to the life of Britain has repaid our hospitality a thousand fold. 

"We often talk about the debt we all owe to your organisation."  Sir Hans Krebs 

Bodleian Library

The period from 1933 to 1956 has been fully catalogued and includes personal beneficiary files, correspondence with partner organisations (refugee, private foundations, funders etc.), with universities with whom academic placements were being negotiated and with various government departments.  Although post-1956 material held at the Bodleian Library is not formally catalogued, CARA has a box list that is available on request from the CARA office.  A selection from the early part of the archive is also available on CD, on request , courtesy of the US Holocaust Museum.


More recent documents covering CARA's history are housed at the University of East London alongside the Refugee Council Archive.  This series represents the accumulated papers of the Council for Assisting Refugee Academics (1999-), and its immediate forebear, the Society for the Protection of Science and Learning (1987-1999).  These include Esther Simpson papers, grant applications and beneficiary details, financial records and governance documents, which are in the process of being catalogued.  A list of box files is available from CARA on request. Researchers should apply to info.cara@lsbu.ac.uk for access outlining their research interests.  Parts of the archive are closed due to the requirements of the Data Protection Act. 

Notable Academics Assisted (1930s & 1940s)

Sir Eric Ash, a pioneer of electronic signal processing and imaging, served as Rector of Imperial College.
Sir Walter Bodmer, a prominent human geneticist who is also credited with expanding public understanding of the sciences.
Sir John Burgh served as a Governor of the London School of Economics, as President of Trinity College Oxford, and as the British Council Director-General. 
Sir Hermann Bondi, a mathematician who helped develop radar and influenced relativity theory, served as Chief Scientist to two UK government departments and as Master of Churchill College, Cambridge.
Max Born became the Tait Professor of Natural Philosophy at the University of Edinburgh and won the Nobel Prize in 1954 for his pioneering work in quantum mechanics.
Sir Ernst Chain won the Nobel Prize in 1945 for his shared work on penicillin.
Sir Geoffrey Elton, a historian and philosopher of history, helped to advance understanding of the Tudor government.
Sir Ernst Gombrich brought fundamental questions of aesthetics in art to scholarly and public attention.
Sir Ludwig Guttman, ex-Director of the Stoke Mandeville Hospital, developed sports for disabled veterans and founded the Paralympics.
Sir Peter Hirsch modernised the study of materials science and engineering at Oxford University.
Sir Otto Kahn-Freund
was a leading theorist and practitioner of labour law. 
Sir Bernard Katz
won the Nobel Prize in 1950 for shared research on mechanisms of neuro-muscular transmission. 
Sir Hans Kornberg
works on the nature and regulation of carbohydrate transport in micro-organisms and advises Parliament on science and technology.
Sir Hans Krebs
won the Nobel Prize in 1953 for his shared research into the complex sequence of metabolic chemical reactions known as the Krebs Cycle.
Sir Claus Moser, a prominent statistician, directed the Central Statistics Office and served as Pro-Vice Chancellor of Oxford University.
Sir Rudolf Peierls 
taught theoretical physics at Birmingham and Oxford and was involved in both the development of atomic weaponry and the Pugwash anti-nuclear movement.
Max Perutz
won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1962 for shared research into the structure of haemoglobin which added to our understanding of diseases of the blood.
Sir Nikolaus Pevsner brought new perspectives on the UK's architectural heritage to scholars and the wider public.
Sir Karl Popper, a hugely influential political and social philosopher, was a critic of totalitarianism in all its forms.
Sir Francis Simon pioneered research in thermodynamics and low-temperature physics at Oxford's Clarendon Laboratory.

Nobel Laureates  Professor H A Bethe, Professor M Born, Sir Ernst Chain, Professor M Delbruck, Professor D Gabor, Dr G Herzberg, Professor J Heyrovsky, Sir Bernard Katz, Sir Hans Krebs, Dr F Lipmann, Professor O Loewi, Professor S Luria, Professor S Ochoa, Dr M Perutz, Professor J Polanyi, and Professor E Segre.